Transcriptions | Preface | Essays | Individuals | Groups | Places | Articles | Back

< Previous

Simcoe Mitt & Glove Company

Next >

Simcoe Mitt & Glove. Large image, please wait...
"The Simcoe Mitt & Glove Co. Ltd. Originally known as the Sovereen Mitt, Glove and Robe Co., which operated at Delhi for many years. Moved to Simcoe in January, 1917, amalgamating with the Unique Shoe Co., to become known as the Simcoe Shoe and Glove Co., Ltd. The present building had been erected by the Unique Shoe Co. in 1916. In 1919 the shoe department was disposed of to the Allied Shoe Co., which in turn sold to the Norfolk Shoe Co. in 1922. The latter corporation trasferred to Tillsonburg in 1923. Since 1919 the company has operated as a mitt and glove industry only, and in 1922 the name was changed to the Simcoe Mitt and Glove Co. Officers of the company are: G. H. Luscombe, President; G. C. Murdoch, Vice-President; B. W. Whitside, Secretary, Treasurer and Manager."

Source: Simcoe and Norfolk County published by Pearce Publishing, 1924
(Out of print. Copy available for inspection at Norfolk Historical Society.)
Copyright 1997-2013 John Cardiff and Norfolk Historical Society