Sports | 1938-39 Brook Woolen Hockey | Back



Click Pic

1938-39 Brook Woolen Hockey Team -- Simcoe Industrial League Champions
Left to right, back row:  mascot Jim Birkett, Norm Thompson,  Gord Birkett, Isaac Hewitt, Roy Haggarty, Jack Baskerville. 
Front row: Glen Neidrauer, Joe Watson, Nicky Neidrauer, Alby Dring, Paul Roberts.
Photo courtesy Paul Roberts.  (Larger version.)

From the Mar. 23, 1939 Simcoe Reformer:
"Woolen Men Capture Title ... Defeat Young Men 3 to 1 in overtime battle to win Industrial crown ... The game was fast and close and the SYMC had it sewed up until five minutes of the final frame when "Skip" Thompson sunk the equalizer ... Goals by Jack Baskerville and Gord Birkett gave the winners their victory and the championship."

Copyright 2000-2015 George Pond, John Cardiff