Sports | 1922 Boston Softball | Back



Click Pic

1922 Boston Softball Team
North Norfolk Softball League Champions
Left to right, back row:  agricultural representative unknown, Cliff Johnson, Charlie Cunningham, Clayton Massecar, Reg McIntyre, Jack Marshall. 
Middle row: Cecil Hare, Clayt Haviland, George Sewell, Archie Hill, Harry Slaght, Tom Cribb. Front row: Howard Grinyer, Russ Shay.
Moore Photo courtesy Norfolk Historical Society.

From the 27 Sep 1922 Waterford Star:
"Boston wins Sewell Cup -- The Boston Softball team are now champions of North Norfolk, having defeated Wilsonville 15-1. It was very one-sided and Boston had the trophy clinched right from the start. Boston eased off at that to allow the game to be finished before dark. This is the third successive season Boston has won the cup and it now becomes the permanent property of the team."

Copyright 2000-2015 George Pond, John Cardiff